GIMP for Mac

GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Installation and Mac OS specific issues.

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby David Wood » Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:51 am

The X can be removed by making a new blank layer, and making two lines that cover the x make sure they are black, and change the blend mode to overlay should work. The text can't be removed, just crop it out. :)
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Image
User avatar
David Wood
Administrator
 
Posts: 5462
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:28 am
Location: Western New York

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby David Wood » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:12 am

It's not perfect but hopefully you can use it. :)

cs.png
Image
User avatar
David Wood
Administrator
 
Posts: 5462
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:28 am
Location: Western New York

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby CurlySue » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:18 am

Very nice!

Now . . . how did YOU do it???

To me, it looks like you CROPPED the photo and adjusted the GAMMA only. I can do the same without GIMP. I was hoping that GIMP would allow me to REMOVE the watermark, not just GAMMA it to fade.

CS :)
CurlySue
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 10:19 am

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby David Wood » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:24 am

I did like I said, made a couple of lines, played around with the opacity and blend modes. I also did a cloning job on the suit since the lines were very visible on it. :)
Image
User avatar
David Wood
Administrator
 
Posts: 5462
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:28 am
Location: Western New York

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby CurlySue » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:33 am

Thank you for the added info, David. :)

I shall play around with the same technique and see if I can achieve the excellent standard that you set for me.

Thanks again!!

With kindest regards,

CurlySue :)
CurlySue
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 10:19 am

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby Maffe811 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:00 am

awsome david, i can still se some of the x, but thats not a big concern if you think about what you did!!
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby David Wood » Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:21 pm

Glad to help out. It was harder then I thought since the image is not all one color, while certain areas would be invisible with say, 30% opacity, other areas of the line was even more visible. 8O
Image
User avatar
David Wood
Administrator
 
Posts: 5462
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:28 am
Location: Western New York

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby Maffe811 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:43 pm

hehe :P
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby ahtisham454 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:13 am

thanks..
ahtisham454
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Postby geommmm » Sat Jul 13, 2013 5:06 am

I had the same problem. I went to Windows>Single-Window-mode and the dialog appeared.

When I went to Windows and unchecked the Single-Window-mode the dialog was no longer greyed out
geommmm
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 5:03 am

Previous

Return to GIMP for Mac

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests