General GIMP help

New guy needs help.......

Everything related to GIMP. Place for beginners to ask questions.

New guy needs help.......

Postby foxback » Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:29 am

Hi all, :)
I am new here. And found out about Gimp, about a week ago, love it!

I have got a fire script loaded into Gimp ok.
Here is the link:
http://fence-post.deviantart.com/art/GI ... t-84921148

But I need some help, when I go & open the amimated fire script the window is so big, that I can't get to the bottom of the page.
To hit ok, after I have set all my settings.

The tool bar is in the way, of the fire scrip window.
I have played with the tool bar settings, I can't get it to work.

I need some help.

Thanks very much. :)
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
foxback
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:03 am

Re: New guy needs help.......

Postby gimpeRaven » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:29 am

I think that some scripts can be resized and some are can't. Try moving the dialog of the script. If it is still too big so dragging is not possible, there's a need for tweak in the script.
(see UI Brainstorm!). Discuss or seek help from other Gimp users and developers. Be part of the to create and receive daily topics.
Gimp Users and Gimp Developer are good to try.

Image
Image
User avatar
gimpeRaven
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:42 am

Re: New guy needs help.......

Postby foxback » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:34 am

I'm not sure how to do this.
Please tell me more.

Thanks :)
foxback
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:03 am

Re: New guy needs help.......

Postby gimpeRaven » Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:55 am

Try pressing alt + o when using the script. (It works on default plug-in of Gimp as a shortcut of OK)
(see UI Brainstorm!). Discuss or seek help from other Gimp users and developers. Be part of the to create and receive daily topics.
Gimp Users and Gimp Developer are good to try.

Image
Image
User avatar
gimpeRaven
Sr. Member
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:42 am

Re: New guy needs help.......

Postby Rod » Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:01 am

Usually you can just hit enter and that will start the script.
I know what you mean though i have a wide monitor also and that fire animation script is the ONLY one i have this problem with.I just updated it to the OLD script and use it.
As far as i know there is no way to resize it.Believe me i have tried.

The only way to fix it is to create a drop down menu within the script itself.That will decrease the size of the dialog considerably.Sometimes too many options are just too many options.They take up alot of room and Gimp handles them in a single row.

Drop downs within the script will fix it.Ask Fencepost to fix it up that way.Should be okay then.
Image
User avatar
Rod
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: New guy needs help.......

Postby foxback » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:06 pm

Ok, :)

great guys! Thanks gimpeRaven, & Rod for your help!

I got it it work by just hitting the enter, after my setting were made. :)
foxback
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:03 am

Re: New guy needs help.......

Postby Rod » Sat Oct 22, 2011 7:50 am

I am talking to another script writer about how to implement this drop down in the dialog.Once i get the script re-written i will PM you a link. :)
Image
User avatar
Rod
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: New guy needs help.......

Postby foxback » Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:42 pm

Ok sounds great Rod.
Please P.M. me with the info.

Thanks again! :)
foxback
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:03 am

Re: New guy needs help.......

Postby Rod » Sun Oct 23, 2011 10:06 am

You bet. :)
Image
User avatar
Rod
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:58 pm


Return to General GIMP help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests