GIMP for Windows

Cannot find ui

Gimp for Windows XP SP3 or later

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Wrath » Sat May 21, 2011 7:22 pm

Willy wrote:Hmm, thats a tough one, The only way I know how to is adding them into your Computer's Fonts, and I think that needs admin permissions.

Why don't you just get Admin permissions :)



ask my dad that -.-
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Wrath
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 12:20 am

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Maffe811 » Sat May 21, 2011 9:45 pm

Depends, you want em in gimp or on the pc in general ?
In gimp, put the fonts in the gimp font folder!

its usuall in C:\Users\username\.gimp-2.*
The * is for the version of gimp you use!

C:\Users\mola\.gimp-2.6\fonts
In my case its 2.6 ^
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Wrath » Sun May 22, 2011 12:00 am

Maffe811 wrote:Depends, you want em in gimp or on the pc in general ?
In gimp, put the fonts in the gimp font folder!

its usuall in C:\Users\username\.gimp-2.*
The * is for the version of gimp you use!

C:\Users\mola\.gimp-2.6\fonts
In my case its 2.6 ^



Tyvm, this worked, i didnt realize there was a folder in my C drive since i used a usb, so at first i tried putting it in Drive G(ipod) etc>fonts but that didnt work.


Edit: FML... NOW I HAVE ANOTHER PROBLEM -.- I CANT OPEN AND PICTURES, GIMP JUST CLOSES DOWN
Wrath
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 12:20 am

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Maffe811 » Sun May 22, 2011 12:57 am

Probably has to do with that your running it off an usb device!
Someone go get Rod.
Im going to bed.
I live in norway, its 3 freakin am... NIGHT!!
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Willy » Sun May 22, 2011 12:13 pm

Maffe811 wrote:Depends, you want em in gimp or on the pc in general ?
In gimp, put the fonts in the gimp font folder!

its usuall in C:\Users\username\.gimp-2.*
The * is for the version of gimp you use!

C:\Users\mola\.gimp-2.6\fonts
In my case its 2.6 ^

wtf is a Mola?


And for your problem with opening pictures, you would have to reinstall GIMP, unless Rod shows up.
Image By Maffefefe
Image

Image
Made by the AWESOME Captain of Sexeh, Maffe
Maffe811 wrote:Im sorry, but whenever some one comes in and posts 3-5 posts without introducing themself and sorta just jump into the topics i imidiatly(?) think they are a bot.

Watch yourself *stares*
User avatar
Willy
Hero Member
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:18 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Wrath » Sun May 22, 2011 1:06 pm

Willy wrote:
Maffe811 wrote:Depends, you want em in gimp or on the pc in general ?
In gimp, put the fonts in the gimp font folder!

its usuall in C:\Users\username\.gimp-2.*
The * is for the version of gimp you use!

C:\Users\mola\.gimp-2.6\fonts
In my case its 2.6 ^

wtf is a Mola?


And for your problem with opening pictures, you would have to reinstall GIMP, unless Rod shows up.



Mola would be one of the users he is using in Windows.
Wrath
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 12:20 am

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Willy » Sun May 22, 2011 1:10 pm

Yeah I figured that much, just wondering what the heck it is :)

And I PMed Rod over on GIMP Chat, where he checks more, and hopefully he can help you :)
Image By Maffefefe
Image

Image
Made by the AWESOME Captain of Sexeh, Maffe
Maffe811 wrote:Im sorry, but whenever some one comes in and posts 3-5 posts without introducing themself and sorta just jump into the topics i imidiatly(?) think they are a bot.

Watch yourself *stares*
User avatar
Willy
Hero Member
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:18 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Maffe811 » Sun May 22, 2011 1:20 pm

Its on my school computer, and my username is the first two letters of my firstname and surname (?) :P
Morten La*restissecretiwonttellyoumoahaha*
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Wrath » Sun May 22, 2011 1:23 pm

Willy wrote:Yeah I figured that much, just wondering what the heck it is :)

And I PMed Rod over on GIMP Chat, where he checks more, and hopefully he can help you :)

thanks and reinstalling it didnt work
Wrath
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 12:20 am

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Willy » Sun May 22, 2011 1:33 pm

Maffe811 wrote:Its on my school computer, and my username is the first two letters of my firstname and surname (?) :P
Morten La*restissecretiwonttellyoumoahaha*

Morten interesting name :)

@Wrath, sorry that reinstalling didn't work, hopefully Rod has a solution
Image By Maffefefe
Image

Image
Made by the AWESOME Captain of Sexeh, Maffe
Maffe811 wrote:Im sorry, but whenever some one comes in and posts 3-5 posts without introducing themself and sorta just jump into the topics i imidiatly(?) think they are a bot.

Watch yourself *stares*
User avatar
Willy
Hero Member
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:18 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Maffe811 » Sun May 22, 2011 3:23 pm

Yes, its a norweigan name :D

Mister Wrath, do you have any plugins installed?
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Wrath » Sun May 22, 2011 4:49 pm

Maffe811 wrote:Yes, its a norweigan name :D

Mister Wrath, do you have any plugins installed?







i have not installed any plug-ins since the installization

except the transfer of .dll folders from the bin to G:\GIMP-2.0\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins
Wrath
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 12:20 am

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Maffe811 » Sun May 22, 2011 5:26 pm

Okay...
first thing that strikes me is that gimp now looks for the files to open images in the same place...

I would suggest a clean-clean install
Un install gimp, delete the gimp user folder, delete the gimp system folder (if the uninstaller didnt take it) and then re-download gimp and reinstall.
But if you are going to run it of your ipod, may i suggest a portable version:
http://portableapps.com/apps/graphics_p ... p_portable
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Rod » Sun May 22, 2011 5:50 pm

Wrath wrote:
Willy wrote:*is amazed it worked off USB*

I would suggest that you get the portable version off your Dad's computer and put it on your flash drive and then put that on your computer. The only setback is that Python will not be easy to install, but talk to Rod about that, I am pretty sure he got it working


(my usb is my ipod :P)

Thanks for your time and patience but i seem to have figured it out on how to work it.
i took all the .dll files from the bin folder and put it in the lib>gimp>2.0>plugin folder and suprisingly it worked.
I seem to have a feeling on this forums (kinda strange) but i am going to stick around here and help and learn about gimp. thanks for your time
goodnite :D


Basicly you would have needed to create an environment variable
However your system does it.
When you reformat you usually wipe the custom variables that programs will add when they install.
When you install Gimp it adds a path to the bin folder where all the direct link library files are found.
You can keep running it the way you have it but when you update Gimp you will have the same problem.

The best fix is to go into control panel/system/select the advanced tab
Click on environment variables
look in the bottom text area (system variables) and see if you can the variable PATH
click on the word path click on edit
add this with the semicolons to the end of the path (make sure first there is NO semicolon there already) if there is do not add the first semi colon but be sure to add the last one at the end.
;C:\Program Files\gimp-2.0\bin;

be sure C:\program files is your directory where you installed Gimp.
It has to be the path to the gimp-2.0/bin folder where the library files are located.

Hope that helps. :)
Image
User avatar
Rod
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Cannot find ui

Postby Rod » Sun May 22, 2011 5:51 pm

Oh and you need administration rights to alter the system variable paths.
Image
User avatar
Rod
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:58 pm

PreviousNext

Return to GIMP for Windows

cron

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest