General GIMP help

How to select multiple layers?

Everything related to GIMP. Place for beginners to ask questions.

How to select multiple layers?

Postby aeacides » Sun May 11, 2008 5:02 pm

Hi guys!

I'm one of those who moved from photoshop (windows) to Gimp (Linux), and I really enjoyed it!  ;D Since everything's alright, I got a basic problem that I couldn't solve ...

How do you select multiple layers (shift + click on layers in photoshop)? I tought it was a must, but the only way I found to do this in Gimp was to click on the little chain beside each layers ( :'( ).

Is there any solution/script ? Probably there's another shortcut ...

Sorry if that question has been asked before [...] but I went in Gimp's doc and didn't find any answer.

Thanks a lot!

Xavier
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
aeacides
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:42 pm

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby 18541016 » Tue May 13, 2008 11:33 pm

I'm afraid not =( The only thing you can do is link layers together, as you have already seen.

And welcome to the forum.
User avatar
18541016
Full Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 7:03 am

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby aeacides » Fri May 16, 2008 4:08 am

Thanks a lot :- )

Ok I see .. well, can we script it in Python? Or you can't alter the layer system with Python script? ...

:)

Thanks again for your fast reply  ;)
aeacides
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:42 pm

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby Siddharth » Fri May 16, 2008 4:06 pm

You cant do this currently :D
but this is an expected feature in gimp 2.6 :P
User avatar
Siddharth
Retired Staff
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:54 am
Location: India

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby Gaurav » Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:38 am

Hey Guys,

i m new to GIMP and have faced the same problem of multiple layer selection. I m using 2.6, is there a solution now.

Thanks

Gaurav
Gaurav
 

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby dzinc » Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:22 am

@Gaurav
Like 18541016 said:
18541016 wrote:I'm afraid not =( The only thing you can do is link layers together, as you have already seen.


or... you can merge :-[
practice make perfect...
dzinc
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 7:03 am
Location: Indonesia

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby hi » Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:43 pm

:alien:
hi
 

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby Cyrilshark » Thu Mar 25, 2010 4:19 pm

What would the point of selecting multiple layers be? Does it apply what you do to each layer?
"Do not abandon yourselves to despair. We are the Easter people and hallelujah is our song."
User avatar
Cyrilshark
Administrator
 
Posts: 2130
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Good ol' US of A :)

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby David Wood » Thu Mar 25, 2010 7:19 pm

Old topic *locking*
Image
User avatar
David Wood
Administrator
 
Posts: 5462
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:28 am
Location: Western New York

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby Cyrilshark » Thu Mar 25, 2010 7:22 pm

I'm still curious...
"Do not abandon yourselves to despair. We are the Easter people and hallelujah is our song."
User avatar
Cyrilshark
Administrator
 
Posts: 2130
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Good ol' US of A :)

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby David Wood » Thu Mar 25, 2010 7:39 pm

HEY! >:( It's got several use, but I can't think of any right now. :P
Image
User avatar
David Wood
Administrator
 
Posts: 5462
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:28 am
Location: Western New York

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby Maffe811 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:37 pm

if you got two separate text layers that is suposed to be 5px apart, then you lock both chains and move em both ;)
i did it in my latest bumblebee sig ;)
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby Guest » Sat Jun 05, 2010 12:17 am

What about moving multiple layers up and down the layer order?
Can you do this?
Guest
 

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby David Wood » Sat Jun 05, 2010 3:07 pm

No.
Image
User avatar
David Wood
Administrator
 
Posts: 5462
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:28 am
Location: Western New York

Re: How to select multiple layers?

Postby virtualTune » Sat Jun 05, 2010 4:38 pm

Siddharth wrote:You cant do this currently :D
but this is an expected feature in gimp 2.6 :P


dont we have 2.68...??
virtualTune
Retired Staff
 
Posts: 4421
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 11:50 pm
Location: Neverland

Next

Return to General GIMP help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest