GIMP for Windows

gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll error (solved)

Gimp for Windows XP SP3 or later

Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

Postby Maffe811 » Mon May 28, 2012 7:50 pm

Lotuspec wrote:A somewhat less invasive approach that also worked for me is to copy
C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\bin\zlib1.dll
to
C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins\


If this works, ill rather do this than mess with system files.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

Postby purplewelshy » Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:53 pm

Hi,

I have this problem, and I cant find a zlib1.dll anywhere!

Chris.
purplewelshy
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:14 pm

Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

Postby Maffe811 » Fri Jun 08, 2012 1:21 pm

Rod wrote:IF you delete all the dll files in the UserFolder\.gimp-2.8\Plug-ins folder that usually fixes the problem.Then just add each dll file Gimp asks for on restart of the Gimp program.
BUT imho...
Sounds like Gimp can't find it's bin folder.
Add a path variable to the C:\Program Files\Gimp 2\bin folder and see if that works.
Start
Control Panel
System
i normally have to click the advanced tab, and then environment variables.But i use XP not 7. Your setup is probably different. In any case the PATH variable settings should be there in system.


Try this ^ or a fresh install.
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

Postby RHSchweitzer » Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:19 pm

C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\bin\zlib1.dll
to
C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins\

This worked for me, too.
Thanks, Lotuspec
RHSchweitzer
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:15 pm

Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

Postby HadronicSmash » Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:47 am

Lotuspec wrote:A somewhat less invasive approach that also worked for me is to copy
C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\bin\zlib1.dll
to
C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins\
@ Lotuspec - :D - Great. Worked for me on WinXP.
HadronicSmash
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:40 am

Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll error (solved)

Postby Nowyousee4 » Wed Jul 11, 2012 5:51 am

Had same as original problem with the zlib1.dll error message. Used the copy from bin\ to lib\ trick noted above... worked flawlessly in seconds. ~up Welcome GIMP 2.8 to my laptop. Good to see you again.
Nowyousee4
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 5:48 am

Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll error (solved)

Postby Maffe811 » Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:07 am

Glad to hear! :D
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll error (solved)

Postby rubberdick » Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:49 pm

Thank you. I'll try that.
User avatar
rubberdick
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 6:22 pm

Previous

Return to GIMP for Windows

cron

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests