GIMP for Mac

Gimp Tutorial 1: Gimp Installation on a Mac

Installation and Mac OS specific issues.

Gimp Tutorial 1: Gimp Installation on a Mac

Postby UnconventionalT » Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:55 pm

Tutorial 1: Downloading and Installing Gimp on the Mac: The complete beginners guide

The prerequisites: X11 or XQuartz?
X11 is Apple's version of the X.org X Window System, and is required to run Gimp for Mac.
While you can compile Gimp to not use X11, it is unstable, and barely usable at times, therefore it is not recommended.
If you're installing Gimp on a Mac that either runs Leopard, Snow Leopard, or something newer, you will want to download XQuartz instead.
XQuartz is an open-source, community driving X11 project, designed to be used instead of (or along side) Apple's X11.

1. Determine what version of Mac OSX you're using.
Click on the Apple logo in the top-left hand of your screen, and select “About This Mac”. A small window will pop up.
Spoiler: show

Note the version number.
Mac OS X 10.4 is Tiger
Mac OS X 10.5 is Leopard
Mac OS X 10.6 is Snow Leopard
Mac OS X 10.7 is Lion

(Note: At the time of this tutorial's writing, no Gimp or XQuartz builds exist for Lion)

2. Download and install XQuartz. (Skip this step if your Mac version is less that 10.5.x)
To go to the XQuartz website, click here, or copy and paste this link into your web-browsers address bar. http://xquartz.macosforge.org/trac/wiki

Then click on the newest release (shown as 2.6.3 in screenshot).

Select the version that matches your Mac OS X version, which will begin the download.

Once you have downloaded the package, open it up, and double-click on the installer package to begin the installation.
Now that you have installed XQuartz, you will need to log off of your computer and log back in (or simply restart your machine) to complete the installation, and to begin using Gimp.

3. Download and install Gimp.