GIMP for Mac

Can't use tools anymore on Snow Leopard 10.6.5

Installation and Mac OS specific issues.

Can't use tools anymore on Snow Leopard 10.6.5

Postby noippe » Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:15 am

Hi.

Since a while I cannot use gimp tools on images anymore.
It is not possible to use any of the tools of the toolbox.
When I select a tool (either from menu or from toolbox), I get the tool (e.g. rectangular selection, or brush, or whatever else) as mouse pointer, but when I click and drag on the image, nothing happens.
Also the context menu doesn't open when right clicking on an image.

Other image manipulations, such as rotating, coloring or applying filters are working without problems.

I've gimp for Mac 2.6.11. I removed an reinstalled gimp, problem still exists.
On an other Mac the same gimp version works without problems.

Has anyone an idea what could be the reason for this strange behaviour ?

René
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
noippe
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:56 am

Re: Can't use tools anymore on Snow Leopard 10.6.5

Postby Maffe811 » Wed Jan 05, 2011 6:27 pm

I have seen this before, and sometimes its just that your image is not the active one... or something like that... i dont remember the details... but i think there is a drop down menu you have to select your image on....
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: Can't use tools anymore on Snow Leopard 10.6.5

Postby noippe » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:31 am

I found the reason for this strange behaviour.

The reason were wrong settings for the input device (I once played around with a graphic tablet, I believe that was the cause)
After setting the input device back to default settings, everything works fine.

The settings can be found under (german version):

Bearbeiten --> Einstellungen --> Eingabegeräte
Gerätestatus jetzt auf Standardwerte setzen

In the international version I suppose it can be found under:

Edit --> Settings --> Input Devices
Set Device to default values
(or similar)

Cheers,
René
noippe
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:56 am

Re: Can't use tools anymore on Snow Leopard 10.6.5

Postby UnconventionalT » Sat Jul 23, 2011 2:14 pm

As an addition to the above post, I'd like to point out that apparently the Mac version of Gimp cannot handle two input devices at the same time (as in, Tablet and Mouse). Activating one deactivates the other. That's just the way it is, and lisanet has specifically pointed out that it's a flaw in X11/XQuartz.
Welcome to my signature!
Please note that this signature is licensed under the General Public License. By embedding the signature, or parts of it, into your brain other than by mere aggregation, your brain becomes a combined, and therefore derived, work and thus must be licensed under the GPL too.
User avatar
UnconventionalT
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:22 pm


Return to GIMP for Mac

cron

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests