General Discussion

path/curve with blend tool?

For general talk about topics that are important to you. Use this forum if your post doesn't fit anywhere else.

path/curve with blend tool?

Postby b6489445 » Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:18 pm

There's linear, radial, spiral, etc modes for blend tool, but what if I want to use a curve or path to determine the blend shape?

PS. Guys, your captcha sucks :P For quests posts it just doesnt work, I literally tried 15 times. and its set too difficult, my text was upside down [/rant]
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
b6489445
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:16 pm

Re: path/curve with blend tool?

Postby Arzoroc » Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:49 pm

You can set the blend tool shape to "shaped" and make a selection from your path. Then make a stroke. I think this should give you your desired result.

Image
Inactive.
Spoiler: show
Willy wrote:arzorac

Maffe811 wrote:Arcoroc

David Wood wrote:Arzorac

sagtek wrote:Arzonic

Legionenigmatics wrote:azornac

Cyrilshark wrote:Argzornack, I still have to congratulate you on having the most epic signature ever. haha

*bow*
User avatar
Arzoroc
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: path/curve with blend tool?

Postby b6489445 » Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:46 pm

I can get that to work only on selections, not paths or curves
b6489445
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:16 pm

Re: path/curve with blend tool?

Postby Arzoroc » Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:01 pm

Yeah, so if you've got a path, make a selection out of that path and then apply it :wilber:
Inactive.
Spoiler: show
Willy wrote:arzorac

Maffe811 wrote:Arcoroc

David Wood wrote:Arzorac

sagtek wrote:Arzonic

Legionenigmatics wrote:azornac

Cyrilshark wrote:Argzornack, I still have to congratulate you on having the most epic signature ever. haha

*bow*
User avatar
Arzoroc
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: path/curve with blend tool?

Postby b6489445 » Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:34 am

but then it turns into a shape, really not what I wanted
Image
b6489445
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:16 pm

Re: path/curve with blend tool?

Postby Arzoroc » Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:37 am

Hm... scroll out a lot and then close the path outside the canvas?
Inactive.
Spoiler: show
Willy wrote:arzorac

Maffe811 wrote:Arcoroc

David Wood wrote:Arzorac

sagtek wrote:Arzonic

Legionenigmatics wrote:azornac

Cyrilshark wrote:Argzornack, I still have to congratulate you on having the most epic signature ever. haha

*bow*
User avatar
Arzoroc
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: path/curve with blend tool?

Postby b6489445 » Mon Jul 04, 2011 11:31 am

That will cause only one "side" of the curve be selected, while i need the curve to be the "middle" of the gradient effect
b6489445
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:16 pm

Re: path/curve with blend tool?

Postby Arzoroc » Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:22 am

Well then ... take another approach:

- Make your path
- Make a new layer
- Stroke your path with a big line
- Go Filters > Blur > Gaussian Blur > Blur it by a good amount
- Rightclick in the layers dialog > Alpha to selection
- Make a new layer
- Take the blend tool, select your desired options and try.

I'm still thinking of a better way, I'm sure there is one...
Inactive.
Spoiler: show
Willy wrote:arzorac

Maffe811 wrote:Arcoroc

David Wood wrote:Arzorac

sagtek wrote:Arzonic

Legionenigmatics wrote:azornac

Cyrilshark wrote:Argzornack, I still have to congratulate you on having the most epic signature ever. haha

*bow*
User avatar
Arzoroc
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: path/curve with blend tool?

Postby rich2005 » Tue Jul 05, 2011 3:26 pm

Not exactly what you want but maybe worth a look.

Ofnuts ribbon-path from:



An example,

This is just the same path duplicated a couple of times. Top is the original path, bottom is the path stroked.
Center is the path converted into the ribbon, then path to selection, then a linear gradient applied left to right.

Of course the gradient does not exactly follow the path, but I don't know what does.

Other snag, if you use windows you will need Python 2.6 installed.
rich2005
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 12:27 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests