General Discussion

is it possible to cut more than 1 image

For general talk about topics that are important to you. Use this forum if your post doesn't fit anywhere else.

is it possible to cut more than 1 image

Postby muratsolu » Fri May 20, 2011 5:40 pm

hey
i have more than 100 image and i want to cut all of the images.
for example i wanna cut all of them 100 px from top and 100 px from left
is it possible to cut all of them at same time?
thanks
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
muratsolu
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 5:35 pm

Re: is it possible to cut more than 1 image

Postby Arzoroc » Fri May 20, 2011 5:43 pm

When they're all the same size you can open them all as different layers and then crop the whole image and save each layer again ... that would take some time (20 minutes) but I can't think of a faster way...
Inactive.
Spoiler: show
Willy wrote:arzorac

Maffe811 wrote:Arcoroc

David Wood wrote:Arzorac

sagtek wrote:Arzonic

Legionenigmatics wrote:azornac

Cyrilshark wrote:Argzornack, I still have to congratulate you on having the most epic signature ever. haha

*bow*
User avatar
Arzoroc
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: is it possible to cut more than 1 image

Postby rich2005 » Sat May 21, 2011 9:11 am

The typical graphic batch utility such as Davids Batch Processor for Gimp, Phatch etc will crop an image but not in the way you want.

IMHO, you will have to resort to command line and Imagemagick. You can get Imagemagick from
http://www.imagemagick.org

One thing to note, as with any batch operation, you can do serious damage to your images, so always work on a copy until certain that the effect is the one you want.

the imagemagick command is easy. bearing in mind the above

the safe one
convert *.jpg -crop +100+100 +repage new.jpg

will remove 100 pix from top and left of *all* jpgs in a folder. New files will be created new_00.jpg, new_01.jpg etc corresponding to the order of the existing.

more risky but possibly more useful
mogrify *.jpg -crop +100+100 +repage *.jpg

will trim and *overwrite* all the existing jpg files in the folder, so you keep the same filenames.

So, procedure would be.
Make a new folder, copy the files you want into that folder. Open a command window. Move (cd - change dir) to the new folder. Run the command. If you have different image formats, change the command (maybe jpg to png ) and run for each format.
Quick test, 40 jpgs, different sizes, 1 min 20 secs.

more info in
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/crop/
rich2005
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 12:27 pm

Re: is it possible to cut more than 1 image

Postby Rod » Mon May 23, 2011 2:24 am

There is also a script to save all layers as png images.
So you could open all your images.
Select the crop tool
Crop the image to the size you need.This would be just like cropping an animation.All layers at once.
Then run the all layers to png script.
The script can be found on the registry just search it.
export all layers to png or something like that. :)

The batch script works excellent also.
Image
User avatar
Rod
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: is it possible to cut more than 1 image

Postby Maffe811 » Mon May 23, 2011 7:08 am

GAP has an Export frames to files.
Works like Rod said, but you can choose file type!
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: is it possible to cut more than 1 image

Postby Rod » Tue May 24, 2011 4:09 am

Maffe811 wrote:GAP has an Export frames to files.
Works like Rod said, but you can choose file type!


Never thought of that Maffe good one! :)
Image
User avatar
Rod
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: is it possible to cut more than 1 image

Postby Arzoroc » Tue May 24, 2011 8:23 am

So many solutions for one single problem :D
Inactive.
Spoiler: show
Willy wrote:arzorac

Maffe811 wrote:Arcoroc

David Wood wrote:Arzorac

sagtek wrote:Arzonic

Legionenigmatics wrote:azornac

Cyrilshark wrote:Argzornack, I still have to congratulate you on having the most epic signature ever. haha

*bow*
User avatar
Arzoroc
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: is it possible to cut more than 1 image

Postby Maffe811 » Tue May 24, 2011 6:28 pm

Its better to have to many solution to a few problems, than to have to few answers for to many problems.

;D Gimp is so POWER FULL!!! 8)
Got möp?
Image
SOTW #1 ^
"Photoshop!? You don't need no stinkin' Photoshop" - We'll show you the power of the Gimp!!!
---
Honest CnC always beats crap CnC
Baum wrote:I think it doesnt has to be mentioned that self-voters have a small p....hotograph :D
User avatar
Maffe811
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6810
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 1:00 pm
Location: Norway/Norge/Norwegen

Re: is it possible to cut more than 1 image

Postby Rod » Wed May 25, 2011 12:41 am

One of the many things about Gimp that's lovable. :)
Image
User avatar
Rod
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:58 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests