1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X11, Gimp, not working

Discussion in 'GIMP for Mac' started by drkib, Apr 20, 2008.

1. drkib

drkib New Member

I'm a novice when it comes to computers. This is my first Mac, a Macbook with 2.2GHz Intel, 2G RAM and 250GB HDD. OS X 10.5.2. In my work I needed to use outlook web access in an Internet Explorer type interface and I need to use descent image editing software. 
    For OWA, I downloaded ies4osx (I had to download something called Darwine first) and chose Internet Explorer 6.0 SP1 to install (www.kronenberg.org/ies4osx/) and initially this worked fine. I noticed that every time I started IE, another program called x11 started up, I assumed this was part of the deal when using IE, so let it run. 
    I then needed to edit images, and was too tight-fisted to buy photoshop for Mac. So I found GIMP, went to the site, where I followed to the word, the instructions. First, I inserted my OSX disc, went to optional installs, ticked the x11 box and clicked the "upgrade" button. Once this operation was completed, I then read the bit that said if this was the first time I was installing x11 from the OSX disc, I had to reinstall the 10.5.2 combo update, otherwise GIMP will crash. So I downloaded the update and tried to install it, only to be told by my computer that I wasn't allowed to do this. When I tried running GIMP, it wouldn't start. So I went back to the website, which told me that if I was having trouble with this, I could use the older Tiger version, which should work anyway. So I downloaded the Tiger version, and installed it. This will not launch properly either. And no x11 application, this will not start. 
    Most of the time, a GIMP icon appears in the dock, sometimes with an x11 icon, sometimes without, either way, GIMP stops responding and I have to force quit.