1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[UBUNTU]once i use my tablet...

Discussion in 'GIMP for Other' started by dark lite, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. dark lite

    dark lite Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    once i use my tablet open and open as layers does not work until I shut down my computer

    tablet : wacom bamboo
    gimp : 2.6.8
    os: Ubuntu 10.4
     
  2. gimpeRaven

    gimpeRaven Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    a college student, a Gimper and a gamer
    Home Page:
    "Until you shut down the computer"? Does it freeze and stops? Maybe reinstalling Gimp? I'm not sure for the best solution for I don't have a tablet nor the Ubuntu OS. :|
    I still hope for a solution.
     
  3. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    I have got ubuntu, but sadly no tablet :/
     
  4. gimpeRaven

    gimpeRaven Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    a college student, a Gimper and a gamer
    Home Page:
    Can it also be because of the Gimp version? I'm just guessing but trying other versions might solve the problem. =0
     
  5. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    Okay, I'm hoping for some reply here.

    So I've got a Wacom Bamboo Fun Pen&Touch, I've got Ubuntu 10.04 and the xserver-xorg-input-wacom driver installed. I get my wacom in, nothing happens, Ubuntu doesn't seem to accept it (or notice it) in any way.

    Any help appreciated!
     
  6. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    "I get my wacom in"
    You plug it in?

    And to DL, try updating gimp!
    And is it just opening functions that dies?
     
  7. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    it doesn't work at all, not only in Gimp.

    It's not moving the cursor
     
  8. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Can the tablet be found as hardware at all ?
     
  9. dark lite

    dark lite Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it hasnt done it since reinstalling my os

    and maffe i just use what ever they put on the software center cuse i didnt feel like updating yet
    i will soon


    ~12-25-10 @ 4:40 am ct
    @ az do you got the latest driver from wacom

    also you dont press and drag with the pen (atleast with mine) but hold it above the tablet

    if you get you cuser moving you got to go to device options and change the stuff to screen.

    i personally love the OLD style bambo, saw the new design walking around best buy, and it burnt my eays

    hope i help but i been up for about 30 hours now and cant think right
     
  10. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Its funny to be up for a long time... you go all... fuuuuunnnyyy!!!
     
  11. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    Well, I'll try some things soon, if someone has got Ubuntu + a Wacom, please tell me how you made Ubuntu accept it.

    Drivers are new
    Kernel is up2d8
    nothing happens if I plug it in/restart/whatever
     
  12. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    So its not recognized as hardware ?
    then we need to make it recognizeable...
     
  13. dark lite

    dark lite Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    man i googled that and there seems to be a lot of errors from pen in touch compared to the standard bamboo

    idk if this can help us figure it ou but what model
    i got MTE-450A
     
  14. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    Okay, that's bad news. But, I have at least one good thing to tell.

    andd

    Soooo... My Bamboo is listed at the USB device list
    and
    I got the module "wacom" listed by manually configuring and installing it from the "linuxwacom-0.8.8-10" package from sourceforge instead of choosing the preinstalled xserver-xorg-input-wacom package.

    Still nothing happening when I'm trying to paint something. Grr...
     
  15. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    <a class="postlink" href="https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wacom" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wacom</a>
    read, im doing it!
     
  16. dark lite

    dark lite Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hmm. been looking around
    also when i was setting up my tablet it told me to change some stuff with
    xserver-xorg-input-wacom driver. did you do that or just install it
    edit
    may want to look here <a class="postlink" href="http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=51279" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=51279</a> apparently its not supported yet
    hope it works for you
     
  17. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    This is for Debian, not for Ubuntu...

    SKY! WE NEED YOU! (afaik you use a Bamboo and Ubuntu)
     
  18. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Maybe pm her on devaintart ? so she will drop by in like a sec!
     
  19. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    On her sky-fyre.deviantart.com? I thought she's inactive there :eek:
     
  20. dark lite

    dark lite Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so do i
    from what i understand it should work since Ubuntu is based on it
    probably the same issue with different names if any differences
     

Share This Page