Trying to extract subject from background

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Patricia.A, Jul 9, 2011.

1. Patricia.A

Patricia.A New Member

Hello. I've just joined Gimper.net. Have been using Gimp for awhile to restore old photos and improve recently taken ones. Unfortunately, I am a bad photographer!
    My current problem is trying to extract a Siberian Husky from the background. Using the path tool does not look realistic as the fine hairs and feathering of his haunches does not look correct. I tried a contrast mask but cannot get the background contrasted enough. When I whiten the background, I lose the dog also. I would appreciate any ideas.

Attached Files:

2. Arzoroc

Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

Okay so basically, rendering (extracting) a furry object or hair in general is almost impossible. There are some things you can try though:

GML MATTING
    <a class="postlink" href="http://www.chip.de/downloads/GML-Matting_38445160.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.chip.de/downloads/GML-Matting_38445160.html</a> (German download link, just google for it to get an English one if you don't trust me ;))
    This is basically a Photoshop plugin to extract different objects from their background. Together with PSPI (a plugin for Gimp that allows you to use Photoshop plugins in Gimp, you can download it from the Gimp registry) you can try to get rid of the background.
    However, this plugin has it's limits, so you might (and probably will) fail with this.
    I once made a tutorial on youtube about rendering short hair and fur. It's basically cheating but it turns out quite good in my opinion:
    [youtube]LUMN0H5ZSK4[/youtube]

Good luck

Arzo
  3. Patricia.A

Patricia.A New Member