1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trouble using the move tool

Discussion in 'GIMP for Mac' started by jbarch, Jan 21, 2009.

1. jbarch

jbarch New Member

Hi,
    This seems like an idiot question, but then I'm a newbie to GIMP....

I'm pulling my hair out with the move tool. I cannot get it to move a selection, it will only move a layer. I have found the tool option for "move selection" instead of "move layer", but all this does is to move the marquee... I actually want to move the stuff inside the marquee, leaving a blank space where the object was originally.

The workaround for this is to select the area I want to move, then cut, then paste and move the floating selection. But I'd sure like to avoid this step and simply move stuff freely. I'll attach before and after files to show what I am trying to achieve.

I feel like I've checked the obvious stuff, e.g. I am sure to be working on the active layer... what else am I overlooking?

Thanks in advance.

p.s. I am using Gimp 2.6.4 on OS 10.4.11.

2. jbarch

jbarch New Member

Hmm.. I can move the entire layer, no problem. What I'm after is the ability to grab part of a layer and move it, kind of like an abbreviated cut/paste.

I have now figured out that I can do this by using the rectangular marquee tool, then using option+control+click to drag the selection around. I thought I had tried this before but who knows.

Thanks.

3. wealthychef

wealthychef New Member

I am having the same problem. I have an image, and want to select part of it and move it to another part of the window. This should be trivial, but it does not seem possible. Control-alt-click is what the user manual says to use, but this does not work. I'm definitely wondering what the parent poster did to make it work suddenly.
    I am using Gimp 2.6.4 on OS X 10.5.6.

4. mdgunn

mdgunn New Member