1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remove dashes around.. everything.

Discussion in 'General GIMP help' started by Spacecraft, Feb 8, 2011.

1. Spacecraft

Spacecraft New Member

I am very new to GIMP and have been using Photoshop since version 4 (not CS4.) I like GIMP so far, and I think I can get used to using it full time if I can get a couple of annoying problems sorted first.

My first problem is this annoying dashed border around EVERYTHING. It's not the selection "dancing ants", I know how to remove those (and I keep hitting ctrl+d, doh!)
    It's this stuff: (The light yellow line)
    [​IMG]

I can't for the life of me find anywhere in settings to get rid of it. It acts like a selection border when I move the layer, but then I can't edit outside of it.

The second big thing is the shortcuts. I've heard there are plugins to change the GIMP shortcuts to that of Photoshop but I cannot find it. Only stuff I'm finding is on the transformation package Gimpshop, which I guess is dead?

I know these are both probably simple things and I'm just being a total and utter noob, so please go easy on me.

2. Arzoroc

Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

As far as I know, you can't ;)

That's the case because it shows the borders of the layer, not the border of the selection. Idk whether the layers on PS are infinitely big but the layer-borders in GIMP are displayed by this yellow line.

You don't need plugins for that, just go to (I assume you're using 2.6.X) "Edit > Shortcuts" and change the ones you need.
    Yeah Gimpshop died some years ago... if you miss single window mode then you can change to GIMP 2.7 though (unstable version of the 2.8 update)
    I hope I did ;D

3. Spacecraft

Spacecraft New Member