1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need help on a dog's hair to fix a photo as a birthday gif

Discussion in 'Requests' started by Sylvia, Oct 28, 2012.

1. Sylvia

Sylvia New Member

Hi,
    I'm pretty new to Gimp, and I've read what I understand about the tutorials.

I'm trying to fix a photo of a special dog to give as a birthday present and I'm having a lot of trouble fixing
    the hair by the dog's nose. I fixed the eyes, and I would appreciate help as to how to fix the hair by the dog's
    nose to be whiter and look prettier. The person who owns the dog is having a 75 years old birthday,
    and the dog means the world to them.

I've spent so far 15 hours myself trying to fix the hair by cropping and blurring and it looks terrible, so I've
    undone it all.

I need to send the picture in 1 or 2 days, their birthday is November 1st.

any help is appreciated.

thank you,
    Sylvia
    [​IMG][/img][/img]

2. Sylvia

Sylvia New Member

Re: I need help on a dog's hair to fix a photo as a birthday

Oh Geez,
    I'm trying to copy & Paste the photo of the dog and I can't even seem to do that

3. Sylvia

Sylvia New Member

Here is the dog's picture.

<a class="postlink" href="http://photos3.meetupstatic.com/photos/event/a/8/0/e/highres_174223022.jpeg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://photos3.meetupstatic.com/photos/ ... 23022.jpeg</a>

4. Arzoroc

Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

Hey Silvya! ;)

Try adding a new layer above your dog-layer, setting the layer mode on "Color", turning the opacity down to around 60% (may vary) and then painting on that layer with the paintbrush tool (with white-ish colors).
    This way you should have a good amount of control about the coloring. If this doesn't work, let me know and I'll try to think of another way ;)

Edit: If you don't know much about Gimp, here's a little more detail: