How to select multiple layers?

Discussion in 'General GIMP help' started by aeacides, May 11, 2008.

  1. aeacides

    aeacides New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys!

    I'm one of those who moved from photoshop (windows) to Gimp (Linux), and I really enjoyed it!  ;D Since everything's alright, I got a basic problem that I couldn't solve ...

    How do you select multiple layers (shift + click on layers in photoshop)? I tought it was a must, but the only way I found to do this in Gimp was to click on the little chain beside each layers ( :'( ).

    Is there any solution/script ? Probably there's another shortcut ...

    Sorry if that question has been asked before [...] but I went in Gimp's doc and didn't find any answer.

    Thanks a lot!

    Xavier
     
  2. 18541016

    18541016 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm afraid not =( The only thing you can do is link layers together, as you have already seen.

    And welcome to the forum.
     
  3. aeacides

    aeacides New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks a lot :- )

    Ok I see .. well, can we script it in Python? Or you can't alter the layer system with Python script? ...

    :)

    Thanks again for your fast reply  ;)
     
  4. Siddharth

    Siddharth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    India
    Home Page:
    You cant do this currently :D
    but this is an expected feature in gimp 2.6 :p
     
  5. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Hey Guys,

    i m new to GIMP and have faced the same problem of multiple layer selection. I m using 2.6, is there a solution now.

    Thanks

    Gaurav
     
  6. dzinc

    dzinc New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Indonesia
    @Gaurav
    Like 18541016 said:
    or... you can merge :-[
     
  7. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    :alien:
     
  8. Cyrilshark

    Cyrilshark Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Good ol' US of A :)
    Home Page:
    What would the point of selecting multiple layers be? Does it apply what you do to each layer?
     
  9. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Old topic *locking*
     
  10. Cyrilshark

    Cyrilshark Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Good ol' US of A :)
    Home Page:
    I'm still curious...
     
  11. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    HEY! :mad: It's got several use, but I can't think of any right now. :p
     
  12. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    if you got two separate text layers that is suposed to be 5px apart, then you lock both chains and move em both ;)
    i did it in my latest bumblebee sig ;)
     
  13. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    What about moving multiple layers up and down the layer order?
    Can you do this?
     
  14. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
  15. virtualTune

    virtualTune Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Neverland
    Home Page:
    dont we have 2.68...??
     
  16. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Yes, I guess it didn't make it.
     
  17. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    hmmmm...FencePost just wrote a script that changes ALL layers to image size.I wonder if someone could rewrite that script to select a few layers or all of them , and then act on just those layers?
    I really dont know of what use it would or could be though. :question:
     
  18. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Scripts are different, can make changes to multiple layers but you couldn't select layers. :)
     
  19. LinaNight

    LinaNight New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am raising this theme.

    Is there a way to change the scale of several layers at once?
     
  20. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    There is a script called layer groups or another called multi layer options that may do these things.

    Multi layer options - scales or crops specific layers.
    Layer Groups - moves any layers that are linked wherever you want them.
    both may be python scripts though.

    You can find them both at the gimp repository.
    http://registry.gimp.org/search/node/layers

    good luck
     

Share This Page