1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi there! (From an old timer)

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Sydney, Apr 18, 2015.

1. Sydney

Sydney New Member

Some of you (Cyrilshark?) might remember me from GimpTalk, which I used to frequent...wow, almost 10 years ago now! The community there was running strong for quite a while. But somehow it fizzled out, and sadly that forum seems to no longer be active/admin'd.

Anyways, I want to get back into GIMP art and maybe try development, and this forum looked cool. :wilber: (It even has a Wilbur emoticon!) I've used GIMP often enough for utilitarian purposes, but the artistic side I really miss.

About me: In the past (crazy) few years, I got a degree in computer science and now work as a programmer. It wasn't what I planned, but I'm glad it turned out that way...and GIMP definitely played a big role in that. :cool:

See you around,
    Syd

KiT likes this.
  2. David Wood

David Wood Moderator Staff Member

Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Home Page:
    Hello Sydney, as much as I wish to say welcome, this forum has also fizzled out and is very inactive. It has changed hands about 4 times over the last two years, and even though the owners have said they have big plans for this forum, they quickly lose interest and just pass it on to the next guy. Sorry if this sounds depressing, but it's the truth. I don't want anyone joining this forum with high hopes just to find out there is nobody here most of the time. I think you'll have a much better time at http://gimpchat.com which is where I now hang out, it is the most active Gimp forum I know of with a really great community, many who were once part of this site or Gimptalk.

David - Former Admin/Mod

3. Sydney

Sydney New Member

Thanks for the welcome and the rec! I've been looking at that site as well and will probably join. :)