Help with coloring black and white image.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ichiban, Mar 15, 2011.

1. ichiban

ichiban New Member

I am a newbie to this. I am a Landscape Architect by profession. Found GIMP by browsing the webb.
    Have installed it and have gone thru several tutorials online. What I am trying to accomplish is to
    take a 2d pdf black and white file and apply colors to render the drawing in 2d? What is the best way to
    accomplish this in GIMP?

thanks

ichiban
  2. David Wood

David Wood Active Member

Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Home page:
    Use a soft brush and set the blend mode of the brush on Multiply. Or leave the brush's mode alone and create a new transparent layer and set it's blend mode on Multiply.
  3. ichiban

ichiban New Member

DWood;
    thanks - am proceeding on with gimp. My next task is to make my own brushes. One of interest -
    I am a landscape architect and do 99% my work in Datacad. Now that I have Gimp, I am rendering
    my drawings that have been saved as pdf's. Once brought into Gimp, I have been able to do the
    color rendering as you suggested. At this early stage of learning - NOT BAD.

Now I have the occasion to render objects in the pdf that are geometric in shape, like a template of a
    palm in plan with 5 sides at equal angles developed in cad. But to make a brush - well, it has been quite
    the task. AFter reading and searching online about brushes, some sites have said that most anything
    brought into Gimp may be a BRUSH. After reading all of that material, it does not seem to be true.
    I import a pdf of the palm template to save as a brush, after save as, name it, with .gbr extension and save it to the gimp brush folder in gimp, it is not there. After watching the tut's about brushes, I see
    nothing about once a file is imported into gimp and save as a brush in .gbr format it becomes a brush.