1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gimps new Cage Transform Tool news!

Discussion in 'GIMP News' started by Rod, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. mikethedj4

    mikethedj4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web UI/UX Designer, Enginner, and Personal Trainer
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    Home Page:
    Oh I didn't know you were a windows user, I haven't logged on windows in a long time, so I can't help you there sorry.

    The program gimp itself is located in /usr/bin either as gimp, or gimp-2.7 depending on what you installed, but that's only the executable application.

    If you head to /usr/lib/gimp/2.0/ that's where the following folders are located
    environ, interpreters, modules, and plug-ins

    If you head to /usr/share/gimp/2.0 that's where your brushes, gradients, themes, scripts, etc: folders are at, and then the home folder has more, but that's all I know at the moment anyway regarding where Gimp's files are located on Linux.

    If anyone knows more correct me please.
     
  2. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    No what i mean is where is the INTLTOOL program itself installed on Linux?
    I have it installed in C:\GTK , but maybe it needs to be in a different path.
    The compiler needs the INTLTOOL to build the Gimp 2.7.2 exe for Windows. =)

    Plus the INTLTOOL also needs to use the xml parser perl module , which i have in Active Perl.
    I have that path variable set as INTLTOOL_PERL = C:\Perl\bin\perl , which is where the perl module is located so i know that path is correct.
    The path i have set for INTLTOOL_BASEPATH is C:\GTK\Intltool_W32 <----- this may be wrong path
    If i had the correct INTLTOOL installation directory, i may be able to get it to compile correctly.

    I hope that clears things up more. =)
     
  3. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    if we have anything other then what the tech guys installed... the take our pc, atm and re install the vista :p
    though.... i had ubuntu for a month or so... dual booted by usb ;D
     
  4. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I have gotten Intltool to work, i compiled BABL and when i went to compile and make-make install for GEGL, it cant find the BABL libraries. :(
    When i compiled and -make and-make install for BABL it installed the librarie dll files in
    C:/msys/usr/local/bin - which is correct? ... argghhh!

    Why can't minGW32 install BABL and GEGL libraries when it runs setup... :D
    For that matter why can't cygwin? That would be even better, as it dl's and installs so many different dependencies. While it also sets the paths and variables when it does. That would make life sooo much easier. =)

    Ahhh well back to pulling out my hair. :p
     
  5. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    You shouldnt pull out your hair!
    ...


    ...


    Get a haircut like i did! ;D
     
  6. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    LOL... well i went and got wget for windows command terminal, and guess what.
    I ran a special little shell script RobA and some others created, made a few minor changes for download sites and package versions ect..ect..ect
    Ran the script and now all i need is to figure out the temporary compile directory tree, and i think were good to go! Maybe then i can start tackling some large preview plugins with each gimp compile.

    I dont think its possible to compile a separate plug-in without compiling Gimp with it.No configure files. =\

    No worries Maffe, i still have my hair.... lol
     
  7. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
  8. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    <a class="postlink" href="http://pellelatarte.fr/en/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://pellelatarte.fr/en/</a>

    It's finished :) It will be available in 2.8 wich comes out in 2 weeks, hooray!
     
  9. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    2 weeks! YEAY!!!
     
  10. mikethedj4

    mikethedj4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web UI/UX Designer, Enginner, and Personal Trainer
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    Home Page:
    This is going to be the longest two weeks ever...
     
  11. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Just gimp, watch tv, sleep ;) 2 weeks in no time!
    Last day before christmas at school is... tuesday... i think.... in week... 5....1 ?
     
  12. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    lol =)
    But it will be well worth it. Thanks Arzoroc!
     
  13. mrohsee

    mrohsee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just like to make sure of something. When 2.8 does come out if I want to upgrade do I have to uninstall 2.6.10 first or will it just install over the top?

    Can`t wait to try out this Cage Transform Tool!
     
  14. David Wood

    David Wood Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    It will probably install over the old version.
     
  15. mrohsee

    mrohsee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Great. Thanks for that. ;)
     
  16. mikethedj4

    mikethedj4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web UI/UX Designer, Enginner, and Personal Trainer
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    Home Page:
    I know I'm installing over the old version, no questions asked.

    With all these new improvements, there's gonna be a lot of room for tutorials too :) (hint hint David lol)
     
  17. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I agree, it will probably install with the new installer.
    I will probably rename my directory (so it doesn't see it) , install 2.8 check it out, uninstall 2.6.11 and 2.7. after. =)

    Yeah there is going to be lot's of room for new tutorials I am sure.
     
  18. mikethedj4

    mikethedj4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web UI/UX Designer, Enginner, and Personal Trainer
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    Home Page:
    8 more days.... :)
     
  19. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    is that really the launch date though 1/1/2011?
    i heard that it may not be until March or later. =)
     
  20. mikethedj4

    mikethedj4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web UI/UX Designer, Enginner, and Personal Trainer
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    Home Page:
    As far as what I've researched, that's the release date it's on numerous sites.

    Here's the official Gimp 2.8 Schedule.

    Here's two links that state the release date...
    <a class="postlink" href="http://www.linuxuser.co.uk/news/gimp-2-8-release-date-announced/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.linuxuser.co.uk/news/gimp-2- ... announced/</a>
    <a class="postlink" href="http://www.unixmen.com/news-today/745-gimp-28-scheduled-for-release-27-december-2010" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.unixmen.com/news-today/745-g ... ember-2010</a>
     

Share This Page