GimPad 1.1 released

Discussion in 'GIMP News' started by Gimper, Aug 2, 2008.

  1. Gimper

    Gimper Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    Home Page:
    [​IMG]

    GimPad was formerly known as GimPhoto Desktop, this new version was rewritten from scratch and made for better integration into GIMP/GimPhoto's scattered windows.
    the older version had some major bugs and memory leaks which has been fixed in this new rewritten release.

    list of changes:
    GimPad 1.1 is formerly known as GimPhoto Desktop.
    GimPad is major improvements over GimPhoto Desktop.
    GimPad is SUPER STABLE, SMALL MEMORY USAGE and NO MEMORY LEAKS.
    If you have experience problems with GimPhoto Desktop, try again GimPad.


    Example:

    [​IMG]

    How to set it up using the standard GIMP version

    1: Download GimPad from Gimphoto
    2: Install gimpad-1.1_setup.exe to C:\Program Files\GIMP-2.0\
    2: make a copy of the original gimp-2.4.exe and rename it gimphoto.exe
    3:that's it! click on gimpad icon that's placed on your desktop and and you should have a one windowed GIMP :)
     
  2. Ajit

    Ajit Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Texas
    Home Page:
    nice, but i won't download :)
     
  3. lamaz1928

    lamaz1928 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    School.....*sigh*
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Home Page:
    so, what is it exactly?
     
  4. Ajit

    Ajit Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Texas
    Home Page:
    just a version of Gimp that a person or group of people recoded to make look as close to PS as possible.
     
  5. lamaz1928

    lamaz1928 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    School.....*sigh*
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Home Page:
    oh....hmm...cool. thanks gimper
     
  6. Gimper

    Gimper Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    Home Page:
    Actually Gimpad is a plugin that allows GIMP to be viewed in one window and one taskbar button. Gimphoto is the modified version of GIMP with renamed menus like PS.
     
  7. Ajit

    Ajit Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Texas
    Home Page:
    o sorry :-[ :D
     
  8. lamaz1928

    lamaz1928 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    School.....*sigh*
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Home Page:
    hm. i like that on better lol. *downloads*
     
  9. Siddharth

    Siddharth Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    India
    Home Page:
    nice ;)
    I dont like it though
     
  10. David

    David Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Web Developer, PHP Programmer, Web Designer
    Location:
    at the next step of success
    A really neat idea, I'll try it soon :)
     
  11. starlight86

    starlight86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Malaysia
    hmm..great!
     
  12. starlight86

    starlight86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Malaysia
    i've installed it but when i try to launch it

    it said fail to run.anybody?can help me..i'm stuck
     
  13. Ajit

    Ajit Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Texas
    Home Page:
    yeah i assumed problems would arise, thats why i opted not to download it... (or you might have just installed it incorrectly)
     
  14. Gimper

    Gimper Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    Home Page:
    if it failed then you must have not installed the files into the right place.
    you need to make sure you copy

    gimped.chm
    Gimpad.exe
    gimpad.exe.mainfest

    into GIMP's bin folder and then make a copy of the original gimp-2.4.exe and rename it gimphoto.exe. once that is done it should work flawlessly.

    This is why I mentioned in the first post that, in the installation setup use the path C:\Program Files\GIMP-2.0\, but this would only work if you have gimp 2.4 installed in its original path.

    Another addon this package comes with is photoshop plugin support. for that to work you will need to be sure

    virtualphotographer.8bf is in plug-8bf
    pspi.exe is in plug-ins folder

    as i mentioned before if you intalled GIMP to its orignal path then by changing GimPad's installtion path to C:\Program Files\GIMP-2.0\ you won't need to worry about the above except for the copying of the original gimp-2.4.exe file and renaming it gimphoto.exe.
     
  15. sglider12

    sglider12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    I work at Best Buy as a Digital Life Sales Associa
    Location:
    Aubrey, Texas
    Home Page:
    Hmm... I like it. Having multiple windows is a pain...

    Downloading! ^-^
     
  16. tomahowk

    tomahowk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    definitely gonna get that...!!!!
     
  17. tomahowk

    tomahowk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    *Srry for double post....*

    uhm i cant get it working...

    should it be installed in :

    C:/Program Files/Gimp-2.0

    or in

    C:/Program Files/Gimp-2.0/Gimpadorsomething (<--- dont know anymore what name the installation gave)

    anyway i tried both, renaming the gimp.2-4 icon (yes i copied it...) to gimphoto.exe but it does not seem to work....


    what did i do wrong?!
     
  18. lamaz1928

    lamaz1928 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    School.....*sigh*
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Home Page:
    i really dont know, sorry tomahawk. but i will say this before anyone else installs it. when you have layers/tool options in a separate window in the gimpad, and you close it, you cant get it back. when u hit add tab it immediately disappears, i tried getting this to work, a few different times, and i just eventually gave up.
     
  19. Gimper

    Gimper Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    Home Page:
    @tomahowk. the three files I mentioned earlier need to be in C:/Program Files/Gimp-2.0/bin.

    @lamaz1928. I'm not having any issues with it 8O could it be an issue with win vista? maybe..
     
  20. lamaz1928

    lamaz1928 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    School.....*sigh*
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Home Page:
    hmm. sorry didnt mean to just assume it was a big issue. um...its prolly just vista lol. but w/e, i didnt really need it.
     

Share This Page