GIMP Mac Native with Tablet Pressure and custom tools!

Discussion in 'GIMP for Mac' started by themystician, Dec 5, 2008.

1. themystician

themystician New Member

Hi there, surfing I found this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIg8Omew9Ps
    and
    http://sourceforge.jp/projects/gimp-painter/releases/

A japanese guy is working on a fork called GIMP-Painter.
    I'm testing it and... it really works with tablet pressure ..without X11!.

I'm not a programmer so I have no idea how this guy made this, so please programmers, take a look at this, because I think it deserves the effort.

I tried the MACPPC 2.6.2 version in my macbook with 2 gigs of ram and leopard and I'm finding it quite interesting.
    It doesn't detect the tablet in preferences but it just works! (and he's developing some VERY interesting custom tools).

Hope u find this useful.
  2. themystician

themystician New Member

BTW, could anybody compile this for intel platform, please?.

I'm testing the version they posted but because it's compiled for PPC it runs very slow :'(

Oh, and I'm testing the 6.2.2 version that DOES detect the tablet in preferences (I was testing an older version in the other post).

Thanks in advance.
  3. vulture

vulture New Member

Tried it briefly on my g4 powerbook (OS 10.4.11). It starts quite well, and loads photos quickly. But the menubar does not allow any access to script-fu and related items. Perhaps I am just missing it somehow?
  4. themystician

themystician New Member

Hi,
    I just tried installing a new script-fu script and it shows where it should, so I don't really know what's your problem.

I really need an intel version :(.
  5. themystician

themystician New Member

...Could anybody help me compiling this for intel? ::) ..pleeeease?
  6. Cocoa

Cocoa New Member

I've looked, and I'm not sure if he provides the source. If you can link to the source, I suspect it would be fairly easy to work it out.
  7. themystician

themystician New Member

8. jagi