gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll error (solved)

Discussion in 'GIMP for Windows' started by heliopolis, May 7, 2012.

  1. heliopolis

    heliopolis New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After installing the eagerly awaited gimp 2.8 and launching it, I get a an error on the startup that reads as follows:screen capture

    xxxx.exe - Entry Point Not Found

    The procedure entry point gzdirect could not be located in the dynamic link library zlib1.dll.


    I have tried reinstalling multiple times, deleting any trace of Gimp 2.6, and renaming the zlib1.dll. I still get the error message on the start up screen mentioned above.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.
  2. Maffe811

    Maffe811 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Deleting 2.6 is not necessary as far as i know, since the 2.8 installer does it.
    I have a plugin from gimp 2.6 that is still where 2.6 was, but 2.8 runs flawless anyways.

    Ehm, i would uninstall 2.8, run Ccleaners registry fixer (the other cleaner if you want that too)
    Then reinstall and try it then.
  3. heliopolis

    heliopolis New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Just did what you recommended but i still received the error message.
  4. Maffe811

    Maffe811 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Hmm... Try uninstall, then turn of antivirus, then install gimp. Then try it BEFORE you turn your anti virus back on.

    Incase it ninja assassinates your files
  5. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Go into your program files and remove the wind plugin, try starting gimp again.
  6. heliopolis

    heliopolis New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    @maffe811: Followed your instructions and still got the error. It does not appear to be the antivirus's fault.
    @David Wood: It skipped the plugin and asked for win-snap.exe. I deleted that as well and got asked for the whirl-pinch.exe. The plugins don't seem to be the problem either.

    ~By the way, thank you for taking your time to help me and my problem. I appreciate it guys.
  7. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Well .. they might be ...

    If Gimp can't open any of your filters, there might be something wrong with that.
    Did you install your old version of Gimp on any non-default path?
    Also, did you download the Gimp installer from the official Gimp website? Maybe your downloaded file was corrupted. Try redownloading from Gimp.org if you didn't do so already.

    Other than that .. I'm pretty clueless.
  8. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    IF you delete all the dll files in the UserFolder\.gimp-2.8\Plug-ins folder that usually fixes the problem.Then just add each dll file Gimp asks for on restart of the Gimp program.
    BUT imho...
    Sounds like Gimp can't find it's bin folder.
    Add a path variable to the C:\Program Files\Gimp 2\bin folder and see if that works.
    Start
    Control Panel
    System
    i normally have to click the advanced tab, and then environment variables.But i use XP not 7. Your setup is probably different. In any case the PATH variable settings should be there in system.
  9. Maffe811

    Maffe811 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Start
    Control Panel
    System
    Advanced Systemsettings (on the bar to the left)
    Enviroment variables

    Win 7
  10. RedChu

    RedChu New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Overwriting zlib1.dll in my System32 folder fixed the problem, though no guarantees that doing so won't break something else (which is why I only renamed the original zlib1.dll instead of replacing it with the new one!)
  11. Maffe811

    Maffe811 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Okay!
    Good everything worked out... so far atleast!
  12. TacoLizard

    TacoLizard New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    i got the Problem, But i cant find UserFolder/Gimp-2.8/Plug-ins folder. :( :( :( 8O 8O
  13. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Which DLL file?
  14. heliopolis

    heliopolis New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    sorry for not visiting my thread regularly. I had gotten very busy and had no chance fix my problem, up until now. thanks to RedChu's suggestion i fixed my problem. though i do wonder whether or not renaming the .dll will have adverse effects on any of my programs.

    I'd like to thank everybody for you're help.
  15. Lotuspec

    Lotuspec New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    A somewhat less invasive approach that also worked for me is to copy
    C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\bin\zlib1.dll
    to
    C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins\
  16. Maffe811

    Maffe811 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    If this works, ill rather do this than mess with system files.
  17. purplewelshy

    purplewelshy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Hi,

    I have this problem, and I cant find a zlib1.dll anywhere!

    Chris.
  18. Maffe811

    Maffe811 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    Try this ^ or a fresh install.
  19. RHSchweitzer

    RHSchweitzer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\bin\zlib1.dll
    to
    C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins\

    This worked for me, too.
    Thanks, Lotuspec
  20. HadronicSmash

    HadronicSmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: gimp 2.8 vista zlib1.dll

    @ Lotuspec - :D - Great. Worked for me on WinXP.

Share This Page