GIMP 2.6 Anchor Layer is grayed out

Discussion in 'GIMP for Mac' started by CurlySue, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    First, I want to say that I realize this is a MAC forum. However, I cannot find the PC forum and therefore am seeking direction regarding my problem(s) with Anchor Layer. If there is a PC forum, I would sincerely appreciate being redirected to it - and thank you for your support. Otherwise . . .

    I am new to GIMP, but consider myself reasonably resourceful. 8)

    I want to remove a watermark from a JPG photo. To do so, I first searched the online manual for watermark and drew a blank. 8O

    Then I Googled and found http://laptoplogic.com/resources/how-to ... using-gimp

    The above link seems straight forward regarding GIMP as found under "Second Attempt: Removing the Watermark"

    However, the Anchor Layer option is grayed-out in my GIMP 2.6 release.

    Next, I reviewed the online manual, section 7.2. New Layer, and section 7.5 Anchor layer.

    I am running Windows XP SP2 with all available updates, and when I attempt to CUT and PASTE the JPG image into GIMP's blank slate, GIMP replies . . . "GIMP Message: There is no image data in the clipboard to paste"

    The above message confuses me because when I open XP's ClipBook Viewer, and expand the Clipboard, I see the JPG image location - plain as day. Therefore, I can only conclude that GIMP is confused. ???

    Since I cannot CUT and PASTE the JPG image from my Clipboard, I chose Open Image and loaded the JPG into GIMP. Unfortunately, the Anchor Layer option remains grayed-out. :(

    If I cannot anchor the layer, I cannot proceed with the instructions provided by http://laptoplogic.com/resources/how-to ... using-gimp

    Its seems reasonable to conclude that I am at FAULT somewhere and GIMP is responding accordingly. However, it also seems reasonable to conclude that GIMP is not working properly since it FAILS to recognize Clipboard contents in Windows XP SP2.

    Any suggestions?

    Thank you!

    CurlySue :)
  2. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    you have to make a selection, THEN cut, and paste should work. :)
  3. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hmmm...

    First, thank you for your reply, David. :)

    Second, regarding... "you have to make a selection" ...could you be more precise? Select what, exactly?

    For a GIMP beginner, your explanation is too vague. :question:

    If you mean "select" the JPG, prior to posting I did - using GIMP commands File / Open to "Open Image" the JPG does appear in the main window - however, as I mention in my initial post, Anchor Layer is grayed-out.

    Of course, this STILL does not answer WHY GIMP refuses to recognize my Clipboard??????????????? :(

    Thank you.

    CurlySue
  4. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
  5. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hmm... our posts are heading in opposite directions, I believe, David. As a result, my overall objective is being overlooked in my opinion.

    I have no interest to "copy something in GIMP to the clipboard..." I was wondering why GIMP did not recognize something that was ALREADY in my clipboard - something I wanted to copy to GIMP, not from GIMP. Perhaps the clipboard issue I mentioned was superfluous, but given GIMP's online manual, it seemed germane and that's why I included it in my post.

    Regardless, I strongly believe the primary issue or problem is being overlooked or totally ignored.

    Accordingly, allow me amend my initial comment "I am running Windows XP SP2 with all available updates, and when I attempt to CUT and PASTE the JPG image into GIMP's blank slate, GIMP replies . . . "GIMP Message: There is no image data in the clipboard to paste," by adding "Of course, this ERROR message does NOT impede my ability to click File | Open and specify the JPG file that I want to edit. Unfortunately, although the 'Open Image' contains the JPG, the option 'Anchor Layer' is grayed-out. I need to Anchor Layer before I can proceed with my objective to remove the watermark from the same JPG photo."

    Neglecting the clipboard issue (completely), after adding the JPG to (not from) GIMP, why is "Anchor Layer" is grayed-out???

    Thanks,

    CurlySue
  6. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    Okay, the steps on that blog are assuming you have a blank document open and an image saved to the clipboard, instead simply open the image you want, bring up the layers dialog, and right-click the layer and choose 'Add alpha channel'. Now go ahead with the other steps. :)
  7. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for your persistence and patience, David.

    Here's what I did:

    1. clicked my GIMP 2.6.8 icon - which opened three separate windows - "Toolbox" and "GNU Image Manipulation Program" and "Layers, Channels, Paths, ..."
    2. at the top of the "GNU Image Manipulation Program" window, I clicked File - which opened a pop-up window
    3. in the pop-up window, I arrowed down and clicked Open - which opened the Open Image window
    4. in the Open Image window, under the Places section, I selected the directory, and under the Name section, I selected and clicked on my JPG image - which loaded the JPG image into the "GNU Image Manipulation Program" window and also loaded a thumbnail of the same JPG image into the "Layers, Channels, Paths, ..." window (with the word 'Background' immediately to its right side
    5. next, I right clicked on the JPG image thumbnail in the "Layers, Channels, Paths, ..." window - which opened a pop-up window, from which I arrowed down to and clicked "Add Alpha Channel"

    From here, if I interpreted your instructions correctly, I am to "...go ahead with the other steps..." as defined in the website found at http://laptoplogic.com/resources/how-to-remove-watermarks-from-images-using-gimp

    Now "...the other steps..." as defined under the section titled "Second Attempt: Removing the Watermark" include Step 2: Open the Layers window by pressing Ctrl+L, then right click on the Floating Selection and choose “Anchor Layer” and this is where my problem starts or exists. Given your instruction, after clicking on "Add Alpha Channel" the "Anchor Layer" option is or remains grayed-out.

    Something must be missing from my GIMP 2.6.8 software, or I am a complete moron, David.

    As a registered professional engineer, consulting engineering firm owner, and Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer, I submit that I am not a moron and that my PC operates at peak efficiency.

    So . . . what am I missing?

    Confused and remaining tenacious,

    CurlySue :)
  8. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    Ha ha, you're doing fine, the only purpose of that step was to merge the floating selection with the background, resulting in one layer. Since you don't have a floating selection and there is only one layer, step 2 is not necessary. ;D
  9. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Oh! Well, as a complete novice when it comes to GIMP 2.6.8, I'm glad that I found this forum because I may have been STUCK at this point for hours if not days.

    Looking on to Step 3, which I executed as Select > All, and then Image > Fit Canvas to Selection

    Next, Step 4, where I would have executed Layer > Transparency > Add Alpha Channel, but Add Alpha Channel was grayed-out. Therefore, I concluded that (given your instruction) I had already executed Add Alpha Channel and therefore should skip Step 3 and Step 4.

    On to Step 5, I chose the Fuzzy Select Tool, a.k.a. Magic Wand

    Step 6, when I select the background of the JPG image (as noted at the thumbnail in the "Layers, Channels, Paths, ..." window, then right click and arrow down to and clicking on Delete Layer, my JPG image disappears from both the "GNU Image Manipulation Program" and "Layers, Channels, Paths, ..." windows.

    Step 7, assuming my JPG image, with Add Alpha Channel, represented the background - now erased - I "supposedly" should be able to see the watermark. Unfortunately, I cannot. I only see the GIMP checkerboard template.

    I guess my "remove watermark" with GIMP 2.6.8 objective is not obtainable given the instructions associated with the website found at http://laptoplogic.com/resources/how-to ... using-gimp

    Any other thoughts or recommendations of how I may remove watermarks from JPG images with GIMP 2.6.8, David?

    Many thanks for your time, patience and education,

    CurlySue
  10. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    There's no mention of delete layer, in the steps, it says to select and then Edit, clear. NOT delete layer
  11. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    True, my bad. Specifically, it states: Step 6: Select the background of the image (in my example, it is the white part) and then either press the DELETE button or go to Edit > Clear.

    Now, allow me to revise my previous statements as follows:

    BEGIN REVISION

    Step 6, when I select the background of the JPG image (as noted at the thumbnail in the "Layers, Channels, Paths, ..." window, then from the "GNU Image Manipulation Program" click Edit and arrow down to and click Clear (equal to Delete, but not Delete Layer) , my JPG image disappears from both the "GNU Image Manipulation Program" and "Layers, Channels, Paths, ..." windows.

    END REVISION

    Step 7, assuming my JPG image, with Add Alpha Channel, represented the background - now erased - I "supposedly" should be able to see the watermark. Unfortunately, I cannot. I only see the GIMP checkerboard template.

    I guess my "remove watermark" with GIMP 2.6.8 objective is not obtainable given the instructions associated with the website found at http://laptoplogic.com/resources/how-to ... using-gimp

    Any thoughts or recommendations (other than Edit > Clear (equal to Delete, but not Delete Layer) of how I may remove watermarks from JPG images with GIMP 2.6.8, David?

    As always, thank you for your time, patience and education,

    CurlySue
  12. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    Sounds like the entire image is being selected. Would you mind posting the image you're trying to get the watermark off?
  13. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sure!

    CurlySue :)
  14. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    So are you trying to get just the ticket?
  15. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Prior to receiving your reply, David, I chose to replace the ticket photo with the actual photo.

    Looking to remove the "X" and the text.

    CurlySue :)
  16. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    The X can be removed by making a new blank layer, and making two lines that cover the x make sure they are black, and change the blend mode to overlay should work. The text can't be removed, just crop it out. :)
  17. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    It's not perfect but hopefully you can use it. :)
  18. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Very nice!

    Now . . . how did YOU do it???

    To me, it looks like you CROPPED the photo and adjusted the GAMMA only. I can do the same without GIMP. I was hoping that GIMP would allow me to REMOVE the watermark, not just GAMMA it to fade.

    CS :)
  19. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home page:
    I did like I said, made a couple of lines, played around with the opacity and blend modes. I also did a cloning job on the suit since the lines were very visible on it. :)
  20. CurlySue

    CurlySue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for the added info, David. :)

    I shall play around with the same technique and see if I can achieve the excellent standard that you set for me.

    Thanks again!!

    With kindest regards,

    CurlySue :)

Share This Page