First pure GIMP primitive sig

Discussion in 'Signatures and Small Art' started by Bucic, Mar 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    But how?
     
  2. IrishWolfhound

    IrishWolfhound Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Occupation:
    Systems Storage Admin. - currently unemployed
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    You can NOT scale and rotate in a single action.
     
  3. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    Two more:
    1. How about scaling both image and path/selection in the same operation?
    2. How do you remove anti-aliasing just from the edges of an image/selection?
     
  4. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    im not sure i understand anti-aliasing...
    and 1. you cant, you would have to save the path
     
  5. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    I "give up". After all it's not normal to require image edges to reamin pixelated for saving output image. Tank you all for your patience.
     
  6. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    :eek: Patience?? where :eek:
     
  7. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    It's just a saying :p
     
  8. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    i know, it was sarcasm ;)
     
  9. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    I dropped the whole GIF fight but I would still like to know, how to prevent edges to be anti-aliased using transparency!

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    help me understand antialiasing!!!
     
  11. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    Forget about AA. I'm asking how to completely remove transparency from the whole selection like in the picture posted, without removing Alpha Channel.
     
  12. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    alpha to selection
    select>sharpen
    repeat a couple of times
    then select>invert
    then press the delete key
     
  13. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    Thank you very much :)

    It didn't completely removed transparency from within selection but certainly got rid of the damn feathered selection. To get rid of the transparency completely I just kept the selection (around the object, not "around" alpha) and painted under it with a color similar to this forum's background. I think the final GIF will look better now.

    ...

    The final of this story is... it didn't :D It's just the way it becomes after changing Image Mode to Indexed. I've done some manual AA on the dark edge and it made it better but not to the point where I would rush to re-upload my sig. GIFs do suck :p
     
  14. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    only use is for gif's are for animations :p
     
  15. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    SCREW GIF all the way!!!

    [​IMG]

    The sig is not mine. BTW, how do you make this "interlace" effect (stripy background)?
     
  16. David Wood

    David Wood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Freelance graphic designer and visual effects arti
    Location:
    Western New York
    Home Page:
    Filters> Distort> TV
     
  17. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    Thanks. He rather used "Erase every other row". But if I'd like to create a custom sized striped pattern to subtract it from the source image (delete part of source image)? I promise it's my last question here.
     
  18. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    No no, ask! we al learn from questions! and to be honest, we need all the avtivity we can get!

    you could make a custom pattern and fill...
     
  19. Bucic

    Bucic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Poland
    No, I meant that I will lean towards asking questions in separate, nicely titled threads. Of course after searching through forum.

    As for my question, as i know diddly-squat about patterns I would:
    - duplicate a layer and add Alpha Channel
    - apply the "Erase every other row" filter
    - scale layer to 150% or whatever percentage
    - on the new scaled layer - Alpha to selection
    - vhalah, I can get any size of stripes I want :)
     
  20. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page