Equating Images in a GIMP Project

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cadu, Jan 2, 2012.

1. cadu

cadu New Member

Hello,

I am new in Gimp and I am trying to equating images in the best way in a Gimp Project.

a) My base image (background) has a dimension of an A6 sheet (1240x1754) with 300 ppi of resolution. It is because I intend to print images like that, which will be inserted in an MS Word software (sheet A4) together common text (attached there is an example). So, is it the better project configuration to create my images through GIMP?

b) I inserted two pictures. By original configuration, “image 1” is bigger than “image 2”. If I increase size of “image 2” (to achieve same size of “image 1”), this picture will loss quality. Isn't it? Is this kind of “increasing” in some way tolerable?

c) When resizing as in (b), what is better: to use direct the “scale tool” or to scale image through menu “image=>scale image”? Or will the result be the same?

d) I am familiarized with Corel PaintShop. In this software, when I select an image first and others after, I could “resize to the same first image size the other ones”. Is there in GIMP any way of doing it? In my case I want “image 2” has the same size of “image 1”.

Thanks in advance for some help!!! Best wishes and amazing ideas in New Year for everybody!!!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Arzoroc

Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

First of all, hey!

b) Enlarging an image will definately give you quality loss, yes.
    c) Some people say the scale-tool is worse, but you can choose the scaling algorithm in both ways so I don't think there's too much of a difference.
    d) You can go "Image > Scale image" and then type the dimensions you want (for example 1240x1754 @300ppi), which is basically the same.

Also, why don't you make the big image as small as the small one? The quality loss will not be as high as far as I know when you make an image smaller.