.DDS File Help?

Discussion in 'General GIMP help' started by sakeeb, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. sakeeb

    sakeeb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm trying to make some skins for MW2 with GIMP. I have the dds plug-in installed and everything but when I open it up in GIMP it looks like this:
    [​IMG]
    but I want it to look like this
    [​IMG]
    so I can edit it.


    ^^This is how it looks like in Photoshop, but i can't open dds files in Photoshop since it crashes every time i try to open it.

    Here is the dds file.
     
  2. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    Can you upload the dds file here? This may help us determine the problem.
     
  3. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Quick fix atempt: Try to uninstall the plug-in, then re install and see if that helps
     
  4. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    I thought that the dds contains of many layers and most of them are hidden.. but I havent installed the dds plugin so I can't check atm.
     
  5. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    If you would care to link to the plugin, i would care to check it out!
     
  6. sakeeb

    sakeeb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here you go.
     
  7. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Okay...
    Ehm...
    1. Ignore the fact that it sais 64-bit, it doesnt work with my 64-bit so if you have 32, try it!
    <a class="postlink" href="http://www.aljacom.com/~gimp/gimp-dds-2.0.9-64bits.zip" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.aljacom.com/~gimp/gimp-dds-2.0.9-64bits.zip</a>

    2. Do you got a 64-bit or 32-bit OS ?

    3. I don't know...
    I wouldn't used this plugins after all the errors messages pepole has posted over everywhere.

    Wouldnt open, wouldnt save, didnt do this, didnt do that.
    If you really need this i can dig some more, if not, try another solution or plugin or contact the pepole who made it!
     
  8. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Open it with Irfanview or try this for Photo Shop.
    <a class="postlink" href="http://developer.nvidia.com/nvidia-texture-tools-adobe-photoshop" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://developer.nvidia.com/nvidia-text ... -photoshop</a>
    You will also need the latest Microsoft Directx 3-D drivers (9.0)

    Once you do that drag the dds file into PS and you will see this
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    In theory you could drag it to gimp ? Or am i missing something ?
     
  10. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Gimp doesn't handle the layers in a DDs properly.Even if you open it as layers or as a DDS file via the drop down, it will show only one layer.The rest will be transparent.Irfanview really doesn't do that well of a job opening them either.If you have Photo Shop the best way is to open them with the plugin scripts i provided. :)
     
  11. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Okay! Then thats settled! :p
    Basicly, use PS for this.
    If you really need to use gimp, you can probably find a genius way to do it! :p

    Good luck! :p
     
  12. sakeeb

    sakeeb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the help!
     
  13. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Any time. :)
     
  14. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    No problem
     

Share This Page