Cannot find ui

Discussion in 'GIMP for Windows' started by Wrath, May 19, 2011.

  1. Wrath

    Wrath New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, im new here just 14 years of age, and i use gimp, i have used it on this computer before and it worked fine. untill i had a system restore. i installed gimp and when i tried to start it up, it says it cannot find "libgimp-2.0-0.dll" i checked in the bin folder and it seems the file is there but it says it cannot find it, any ideas pl0x?

    (i have no administrator rights)
     
  2. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    First thing to do when Gimp is having errors:

    Download again, then reinstall. Tell us if that fixed it.
     
  3. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    try reinstalling ontop of old install...
    if that doesnt work, un-install then reinstall!
     
  4. Wrath

    Wrath New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i tried this and it did not work but when i put it into my dads computer with my usb drive, it worked
     
  5. Willy

    Willy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    High School, Engineering Program
    Location:
    Michigan
    Home Page:
    Okay, does your Dad have GIMP installed? Has he had it installed? Do you both have the same opperating system?

    And my guess is, is that the Path wasn't created, because you don't have admin permissions
     
  6. Wrath

    Wrath New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i installed gimp on my dads computer (without him knowing) and set the download path to my usb.
    after it finished installing i tried it and it worked, it worked with his computer(windows 7). i unhooked my usb and then put it on my computer (windows xp) i thought about this but is there a way to download the windows xp version on a windows 7?
     
  7. Willy

    Willy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    High School, Engineering Program
    Location:
    Michigan
    Home Page:
    *is amazed it worked off USB*

    I would suggest that you get the portable version off your Dad's computer and put it on your flash drive and then put that on your computer. The only setback is that Python will not be easy to install, but talk to Rod about that, I am pretty sure he got it working
     
  8. Wrath

    Wrath New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    (my usb is my ipod :p)

    Thanks for your time and patience but i seem to have figured it out on how to work it.
    i took all the .dll files from the bin folder and put it in the lib>gimp>2.0>plugin folder and suprisingly it worked.
    I seem to have a feeling on this forums (kinda strange) but i am going to stick around here and help and learn about gimp. thanks for your time
    goodnite :D
     
  9. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    good to see you got it working!

    I have a feeling Rod will notice this thread and then come up with a secondary solution... he has a tendancy to do that! :p But we all love him for his knowledge ;D
     
  10. Wrath

    Wrath New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    is rod the owner of this site o.o?
     
  11. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    Nope, Gimper is. :p
     
  12. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    ^ ~up

    Noh he is the most techy guy around here so he could probably help :p
     
  13. Willy

    Willy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    High School, Engineering Program
    Location:
    Michigan
    Home Page:
    Welcome to the forum then Wrath
     
  14. Wrath

    Wrath New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks
    now i have another problem lol :p

    is there anyway to add fonts without admin privileges?
     
  15. Willy

    Willy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    High School, Engineering Program
    Location:
    Michigan
    Home Page:
    Hmm, thats a tough one, The only way I know how to is adding them into your Computer's Fonts, and I think that needs admin permissions.

    Why don't you just get Admin permissions :)
     
  16. Wrath

    Wrath New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    ask my dad that -.-
     
  17. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Depends, you want em in gimp or on the pc in general ?
    In gimp, put the fonts in the gimp font folder!

    its usuall in C:\Users\username\.gimp-2.*
    The * is for the version of gimp you use!

    C:\Users\mola\.gimp-2.6\fonts
    In my case its 2.6 ^
     
  18. Wrath

    Wrath New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Tyvm, this worked, i didnt realize there was a folder in my C drive since i used a usb, so at first i tried putting it in Drive G(ipod) etc>fonts but that didnt work.


    Edit: FML... NOW I HAVE ANOTHER PROBLEM -.- I CANT OPEN AND PICTURES, GIMP JUST CLOSES DOWN
     
  19. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    Probably has to do with that your running it off an usb device!
    Someone go get Rod.
    Im going to bed.
    I live in norway, its 3 freakin am... NIGHT!!
     
  20. Willy

    Willy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    High School, Engineering Program
    Location:
    Michigan
    Home Page:
    wtf is a Mola?


    And for your problem with opening pictures, you would have to reinstall GIMP, unless Rod shows up.
     

Share This Page