1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2.8 estimate release date!

Discussion in 'GIMP News' started by Cyrilshark, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    So are they implementing single window mode in 2.8 or 2.10?
     
  2. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    they gotta keep the option there!!!!
     
  3. Lil'Hero

    Lil'Hero Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    second that
     
  4. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    third
     
  5. Cyrilshark

    Cyrilshark Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Student
    They are. :p
     
  6. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    yes! go opensource!
    A friend of mines pc went bad and he said: "IM GONNA GET A PIRACY TICKET!!! HELP ME GET THIS OFF!!!"
    i laughed and smiled and went "....eh.... ubuntu is free....."
    *10 seconds of silence* "oh.... okay... no ticket for me i guess"
     
  7. gimpeRaven

    gimpeRaven Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    a college student, a Gimper and a gamer
    Home Page:
    So long choices are present = more fun XD
     
  8. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    2.7.1 does have layer groups.
     
  9. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    WHY THE HECK DIDNT YOU TELL ME THAT!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  10. Arzoroc

    Arzoroc Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    WHAT?!?!?! AND IM ON LINUX AND STILL USING 2.6.10?! :O Seriously, WHAT THE FORK?
     
  11. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    WHAT THE FOOOORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!??????????????????????? I hate 2.7.1.... Rod can you just pack your whole Gimp 2.7 directory into a ZIP and mail it to me ? :|
     
  12. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Not entirely sure if that will work due to the Preferences folder, but here you go.
    Unzip it to your Program Files folder and open the bin folder, right click the Gimp exe icon and send a shortcut to your desktop.I would then go into your user docs and create a gimp 2.7 folder.
    After you launch Gimp 2.7 it should create all the other sub folders for you.BUT, you may be better off keeping the 2.7 folder you have in there if you didn't uninstall it yet.

    If i were you i would then open Gimp and go to your preferences folder and change the paths to your own. =)

    It's already set for Python plug-ins, just add them to your plug-ins folder.I included a few.

    Hope it works!
    Here's the link:
    http://download764.mediafire.com/5xv6g5 ... +2.7.1.zip
     
  13. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    okay! :D :)
    im gonna just replace the "old" 2.7 folder with yours and then the one in the userdocs will still be there :-D
     
  14. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Just make sure before you launch it to delete everything in the sub folders in user docs gimp 2.7 folder....it's probably all stuff related to 2.6 and wont work, probably why you got all the errors before.
     
  15. virtualTune

    virtualTune Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Neverland
    Home Page:
    so it says if I install 2.7.1 it will uninstall 2.6! do i want that? :question:
     
  16. virtualTune

    virtualTune Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Neverland
    Home Page:
    so it says if I install 2.7.1 it will uninstall 2.6! do i want that? :question:
     
  17. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    no, rename your 2.0 folder for your 2.6 version to anything other than 2.0
    something like just GIMP...just do not forget to rename it back to what it originally was named.
    If you do not your shortcuts wont work anymore. =)

    And before you install 2.7, create a 2.7 folder in your user docs name it .. . gimp 2.7
    Gimp 2.7 installer will recognize it and add folders under it (sub-folders), brushes, scripts, plug-ins ect..ect
    This way it wont copy your 2.6 user docs folder, and all its sub-folder and contents, and rename that copy 2.7
     
  18. gimpeRaven

    gimpeRaven Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    a college student, a Gimper and a gamer
    Home Page:
    2 Gimp in one PC!~ nice one, well won't that make two entries in the add and remove softwares? Just wondering. Anyways, I just want an stable 2.7 and try the featured layer groups... @.@
     
  19. Maffe811

    Maffe811 The forum pet Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway/Norge/Norwegen
    i dont need to delete, cause its 3 folders
    Gimp-2.0
    Gimp-2.6
    Gimp 2.7
     
  20. Rod

    Rod Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Did it work for you then?

    If you get an error when the program loads (PTOOL)
    Just go into the plug-ins folder and delete the ptool.exe file.
    It needs a different DLL file to run anyways, and its just for panoramas.
     

Share This Page